Forum for Curators of Chinese Art

Arising from the J. S. Lee Memorial Fellowship Programme (the "Programme"), the Forum for Curators of Chinese Art (the "Forum") sponsored by the Bei Shan Tang Foundation was launched in 2009. The Forum aims to provide a free, direct and open platform for curators of affiliated Programme Institutions as well as J. S. Lee Memorial Fellows to gather and share thoughts. This Forum brings together a special global community of curators, fostering interactions to nurture international museum collaborations.

 

2009 Forum for Curators of Chinese Art

The first Forum was hosted by the Art Museum, The Chinese University of Hong Kong (Hong Kong) in Fall 2009, in which Mr. James Watt (former Chairman of Department of Asian Art, The Metropolitan Museum of Art) and Mr. Chen Kelun (Vice Director, Shanghai Museum) made keynote presentations on Private Collections and Public Museums.

 

2011 Forum for Curators of Chinese Art

Seattle Art Museum (U.S.A) hosted the second Forum in Summer 2011. Comprising more topics than the previous Forum, there were discussions on permanent collections, presenting and collecting contemporary art, collaborations among museums and exhibitions in planning.

 

2013 Forum for Curators of Chinese Art

In Spring 2013, Shanghai Museum (China) hosted the third Forum, discussing topics related to conservation and preservation of museums' collections, collaborations and resource sharing among museums and museum education and outreach.

 

2014 Forum for Curators of Chinese Art

The forth Forum was hosted by The British Museum (U.K.) in Winter 2014, which discussed international exhibition collaboration and exchange between museums in China and foreign countries. During the Forum, the participants had in-depth discussions on topics related to national policies, procedures, difficulties and solutions in organizing international exhibition and loan exhibition.

 

2016 Forum for Curators of Chinese Art

The fifth Forum was hosted by The Palace Museum (China) in Fall 2016 in the theme of "Understanding Chinese Art: Communication and Collaboration". The Forum discussed how museums of different cultural backgrounds can achieve and deliver a better understanding on Chinese art through science, historical research, exhibit design and museum education.

中國藝術博物館論壇

北山堂基金自 2009年起贊助舉辦中國藝術博物館論壇(「論壇」),為「利榮森紀念交流計劃」的參與機構人員及訪問學人提供一個自由、直接及開放的平台,凝聚及交流想法。論壇旨在促進東西方意見交流,亦為這個特別的國際化博物館策展人群組帶來更多互動機會,促進館際間的合作。

 

2009 中國藝術博物館論壇

第一屆博物館論壇在2009年秋季,由香港中文大學文物館主辦,並邀請到前大都會博物館亞洲藝術部主任屈志仁先生及上海博物館副館長陳克倫先生就私人收藏與博物館發表專題演講。

 

2011 中國藝術博物館論壇

美國西雅圖藝術館(Seattle Art Museum)於2011年夏季主辦第二屆論壇,涵蓋題目比上一屆更為豐富,包括博物館藏品、當代藝術品的展示與交流、博物館館際的合作及展覽預告。

 

2013 中國藝術博物館論壇

第三屆論壇於2013年春季由中國上海博物館主辦,探討藏品修復與保護、博物館合作與資源共享及博物館教育與推廣等議題。

 

2014 中國藝術博物館論壇

第四屆論壇在2014年冬季由英國大英博物館(The British Museum)主辦,討論中國與外地博物館的國際展覽合作與交流。會上與會者就博物館國際展覽合作及借展的國家規定、程序、遇到的困難及解決辦法等議題作深入討論。